Unexpected lessons this Summer ;-)

28 Jul
This summer I witnessed truth in two poignant quotes:
~

“Never doubt that a small group of thoughtful, committed, citizens can change the world. Indeed, it is the only thing that ever has.” — Margaret Mead

“Everything you imagine is real”– Picasso

To the first quote, I worked with a fabulous group of motivated women this summer. Many thanks to Macdella Cooper, Tammy Tibbetts, Lianne Zhang, Ashly Priest, Erin Scottberg, Anna Schilawski, Julia Miller, and many others for showing me that it only takes a few people dedicated to make big things happen. It was something I always knew, but to experience the mechanics of it all has given me a completely different outlook on life and what you can accomplish with a core of talented individuals.
post
(a fraction of the team that made the “Macdella Cooper Champions for Education Benefit” a success)

To the latter, the fact that a concept, an idea, or even a thought can become real by whispering it at the tip of your tongue has always been inspiring to me. However, I realized that the action that follows inception is just as crucial. When you speak your dreams, the actions you take thus forward must eat, breathe, and live it.

Once again, much thanks to the MCF “dream team” for inspiring a few crucial epiphanies this summer – it was exactly was I needed to make up my mind about a couple things.
post1
(Interns Julia *far left* and I with the director, founder, and events&PR coordinator of the foundation)

With my summer in New York winding down and school starting up again, I have a lot of projects I will be rolling out…stay tuned my friends!
nb

One Response to “Unexpected lessons this Summer ;-)”

  1. Mea Karnley August 5, 2009 at 3:34 pm #

    So sad I couldnt be there. BUt from what I see yall did GREAT job!

Leave a Reply

