A Sweet Ending

31 Jul
Today was my last day in the city and the most efficient use of an 8hr time period I’ve ever coordinated:

First things first, I finally paid the corner stand guy my $9.25 debt plus interest (he was extremely happy about that).

Secondly, I stopped by Dunkin Donuts to get a box of glazed and jelly donuts for my co-interns, awesome Baby Phat and Pastry designers, and of course the amazing Southpole designers and professionals on the 6th floor (aka, the old intern hang out spot). I was thinking about switching it up for the Pastry folks (i.e. hot pink frosted cake, perhaps?), but decided to stick to my signature “sweet & delicious” exit!
DunkinDOhNuts

Thirdly, I stopped by the Macdella Cooper Foundation to say a short goodbye to the amazing founder Macdella Cooper! Which led to my last intern duty of returning the loaner PORTS 1961 shoes we borrowed for the fashion show portion of the Hamptons’ benefit this past weekend. Let me tell you…PORTS 1961’s west side showroom is the most beautiful space I’ve seen in a very long time. When I walked in it was another one of those sensory overload moments (and you know how I get at these times, yes, inspiration left and right! By the time I got off of my last ride on the NJ Transit I had already completed a sketch of the entire space for keepsake!

It was just what I needed to see.
This project I’m working on, let’s just call it Operation DC, is destined to take off after that feeling I got today as I was leaving the showroom. It’s all falling into place…it’s amazing when that begins to happen.

Oh, and the best part? I was handed a check today…and here I was thinking I was working for free! A surprise paid internship? Definitely the highlight of my summer!

nb

One Response to “A Sweet Ending”

  1. Mea Karnley August 5, 2009 at 3:29 pm #

    Que guay!

Leave a Reply

